Our summary below describes the overall picture of homeschooling requirements in the state of South Dakota. Additional and more extensive help can be found within our e-book: South Dakota Homeschool Legal Workbook: Your Guide to Compliance - Facts & Forms, prepared by HomeSchoolLegal.com.
|Approach:||Establish a homeschool|
|Restrictions:||Teacher certification not required|
|Reporting:||Submit a notarized application for public school exemption to the local superintendent on the form provided by the Department of Education, with attached certified birth certificate or affidavit of witnesses as to identity of child.|
|Recordkeeping:||Keep copy of birth certificate in the home as part of student’s record. Department of Education may inspect records with 14 days notice if Secretary has probable cause to believe program is not in compliance.|
|Requirements:||Child must be provided with alternative instruction for an equivalent period of time, as in the public schools, in the basic skills of language arts and mathematics.|
|Testing:||Testing is required in grades 2, 4, 8, and 11 as follows:1. Test may be monitored by local school district.2. SAT10 test provided by the Department of Education (not the Dakota STEP test) at no cost.
3. If another test is chosen, it is at the expense of the homeschool.
4. Results must be sent to the local school district.
|Compulsory Attendance:||Applies to children who are 6 years of age by the 1st of September, but who have not exceeded the age of 16. (Will be changed to 18 years of age on July 1, 2009.)|
|Source of Law:||South Dakota Codified Laws|
|NOTE:||This is not intended to be legal advice and is offered only as an educational service for visitors to www.Home-School-Inc.com and www.HomeSchoolLegal.com. It is not a substitute for competent legal advice. Requirements may change at any time, and interpretations of the law and regulations can differ. Consult a legal services provider and a local homeschooling support group for more specific information.|