South Carolina

hslegal_book_sc_small.jpg

Homeschooling in South Carolina

The summaries below describe three different approaches, or alternative ways, the state of South Carolina offers homeschooling families to meet state compulsory education requirements. Additional and more extensive help can be found within our e-book: South Carolina Homeschool Legal Workbook: Your Guide to Compliance - Facts & Forms, prepared by HomeSchoolLegal.com.

 Approach 1

 
 Approach: Establish a homeschool as approved by the local school board
   
 Restrictions: Teacher must have a high school diploma or GED, or Bachelors Degree
   
 Reporting: As part of approval process by district board of trustees
   
 Recordkeeping: Maintain evidence of regular instruction, including: a record of subjects taught and activities in which the student and parent engage; a portfolio of the student’s academic work; and a record of academic evaluations of the student’s academic progress. A semi-annual progress report including attendance records and individualized assessments of the student’s academic progress in each of the basic instructional areas must be submitted to the school district.
   
 Requirements: Subjects required include reading, writing, math, science, and social studies; and in grades 7 through 12, composition and literature. Attend 4-1/2 hours per day for 180 days per year.
   
 Testing: Students must participate in the annual statewide testing program and the Basic Skills Assessment Program approved by the State Board of Education for their appropriate grade level. The tests must be administered by a certified school district employee either with public school students or by special arrangement at the student’s place of instruction, at the parent’s option. The parent is responsible for paying the test administrator if the test is administered at the student’s home.
   
 Compulsory  Attendance: Applies to child who is 5 years of age before September 1 until the 17th birthday, or graduation from high school. An exemption is available to five-year-olds to be excused from kindergarten.
   
 Source of Law: South Carolina Code of Laws
   
 NOTE: This is not intended to be legal advice and is offered only as an educational service for visitors to www.Home-School-Inc.com and www.HomeSchoolLegal.com. It is not a substitute for competent legal advice. Requirements may change at any time, and interpretations of the law and regulations can differ. Consult a legal services provider and a local homeschooling support group for more specific information.
 <top  
   

Approach 2

 
 Approach: Establish a homeschool under the membership auspices of The South Carolina Association of Independent Home Schools (SCAIHS)
   
 Restrictions: Teacher must have a high school diploma or GED
   
 Reporting: SCAIHS is obligated to report to State Department of Education.
   
 Recordkeeping: As required by SCAIHS
   
 Requirements: Subjects required include reading, writing, math, science, and social studies; and in grades 7 through 12, composition and literature. Attend 180 days.
   
 Testing: Exempt from state testing.
   
 Compulsory  Attendance: Applies to child who is 5 years of age before September 1 until the 17th birthday, or graduation from high school. An exemption is available for five-year-olds to be excused from kindergarten.
   
 Source of Law: South Carolina Code of Laws
   
NOTE: This is not intended to be legal advice and is offered only as an educational service for visitors to www.Home-School-Inc.com and www.HomeSchoolLegal.com. It is not a substitute for competent legal advice. Requirements may change at any time, and interpretations of the law and regulations can differ. Consult a legal services provider and a local homeschooling support group for more specific information.
<top  
   

 Approach 3

 
 Approach: Establish a homeschool under the membeship auspices of an association for homeschools with no fewer than 50 members
   
 Restrictions: Teacher must have a high school diploma or GED
   
 Reporting: Under auspices of association for homeschools
   
 Recordkeeping: Maintain evidence of regular instruction, including: a record of subjects taught and activities in which the student and parent engage; a portfolio of the student’s academic work; and a record of academic evaluations of the student’s academic progress. A semiannual progress report including attendance records and individualized assessments of the student’s academic progress in each of the basic instructional areas must be submitted to the school district.
   
 Requirements: Subjects required include reading, writing, math, science, and social studies; and in grades 7 through 12, composition and literature. Attend 180 days per year.
   
 Testing: Exempt from state testing.
   
 Compulsory  Attendance: Applies to child who is 5 years of age before September 1 until the 17th birthday, or graduation from high school. An exemption is available for five-year-olds to be excused from kindergarten.
   
 Source of Law: South Carolina Code of Laws
   
 NOTE: This is not intended to be legal advice and is offered only as an educational service for visitors to www.Home-School-Inc.com and www.HomeSchoolLegal.com. It is not a substitute for competent legal advice. Requirements may change at any time, and interpretations of the law and regulations can differ. Consult a legal services provider and a local homeschooling support group for more specific information.
<top