Missouri

hslegal_book_mo_small.jpg
Homeschooling in Missouri

Our summary below describes the overall picture of homeschooling requirements in the state of Missouri. Additional and more extensive help can be found within our e-book: Missouri Homeschool Legal Workbook: Your Guide to Compliance - Facts & Forms, prepared by HomeSchoolLegal.com.

 Approach 1

 
 Approach: Establish a homeschool
   
 Restrictions: Teacher certification not required
   
 Reporting: Parent may notify the superintendent of schools or the recorder of county deeds in the county where the parents reside before September 1 annually, but are not required to do so.
   
 Recordkeeping: Maintain a plan book, diary, log or other written record indicating the subjects taught and (a) activities engaged in; (b) portfolio of sample work; (c) record of evaluation of academic progress; (d) other written or credible evidence.
   
 Requirements: Parent shall offer 1,000 hours of instruction during the school year, with at least 600 hours in the basics, which will be in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. At least 400 of the 600 hours shall occur in the home location. School year is defined as beginning July 1 and ending the following June 30.
   
 Testing: Testing Not Required
   
 Compulsory  Attendance: Applies to children between the ages of 7 and 16 years of age
   
 Source of Law: Missouri Annotated Statutes, Section 167.031
   
NOTE: This is not intended to be legal advice and is offered only as an educational service for visitors to www.Home-School-Inc.com and www.HomeSchoolLegal.com. It is not a substitute for competent legal advice. Requirements may change at any time, and interpretations of the law and regulations can differ. Consult a legal services provider and a local homeschooling support group for more specific information.
 <top